Home
We asked our authors to write about a favourite book, which they think more people should read.
Nandhika Nambi is a medical student. Her teen novel Unbroken was published this month.

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

Truth be told, I forbade myself from reading this book until my second year final exams were over. I was under a lot of stress, studying ten hours a day and in the remaining time questioning all my life choices, and I was worried this book would mess with my mind and leave me wondering if all this was worth it.
When I finally got around to reading it, it was anything but; it put everything into perspective. It did certainly mess with my mind, but in doing so put everything in order. This book has influenced me so much. There are so many things I’ve got through in life; telling myself the future will be rewarding and happier. Most significant of which, is the gruelling medical school journey. Most of the time I’m thrilled to be doing this, it’s definitely my passion. But there have been moments I want to quit, most of all because of how much it demanded from me and the time that’s been taken away from the other things I’m passionate about. My ability to live in the moment, has been severely compromised. But I’d like to think that this book changed all that. I now have a clearer idea of what I want to do, and how much of my life i want to dedicate to it.
I’ve written only about how much I loved this book, and not about the book itself because in one passage I cannot contain how beautifully it’s written and how moving it is. I hope everyone that reads this, if you haven’t read the book already, you will. I’m sure it will influence you in its own unique way.
The story is the battle of a neurosurgeon who when finishing his course, got diagnosed with stage four lung cancer–written by the man himself. Painfully honest. Undeniably beautiful. Truly inspiring.
I couldn’t recommend it enough.
Leave a Reply

