World Book Day 2017: Balaji Venkataramanan

We asked our authors to write about a well-loved book, which they think more people should read. This may have caused trauma.
Balaji Venktaramanan is the author of the hilarious Flat-track Bullies, a middle-grade coming of age story of a boy in Chennai.

Travails of a reluctant reader:

“I like it when somebody gets excited about something. It’s nice.” Well my publishers are quite excited about celebrating this World Book Day.

They wanted me to write about a favourite book and now I stand exposed as someone who doesn’t read much except the newspapers.

“I’m quite illiterate, but I read a lot.”

I have this mental condition; just the way I cannot remember the lyrics of a song even if I listen to it a million times, I completely forget the story by the time I finish a book.

It’s like playing a video game where once you get involved you almost become the protagonist.

“I don’t exactly know what I mean by that, but I mean it.”

After a long time I am playing Holden Caulfield again and loving every moment of it. Do read J.D.Salinger’s The Catcher in the Rye and you sure will love playing Caulfield in case you have the same medical condition as me.

BTW, do you get this feeling that you have heard these lines somewhere?

Well, “People never notice anything. They always clap for the wrong reasons”

Anyway…

Leave a Reply

