Home

The next writer in our series is Revathi Suresh. Inspired by Roald Dahl’s writing space and routine, we have been asking our writers to tell us about their writing schedule.

Revathi Suresh is the author of Jobless Clueless Reckless.

When I was a writer, I always wrote at home and never in public places. The time of day didn’t matter. If the urge struck, I wrote. Thankfully this horrible tendency to write has now deserted me—gone for good, I hope. These days my writing is limited to replying politely to nice people offering me jobs because Google picked up the title of my book from gmail and bandied it around till various concerned parties began to feel worried about the state of my mind. Who says unemployment is on the rise? You should check out the job offers I get.

Anyway, to get back to this writing thing. I used to do most of my writing in my head. I’d write entire dialogues and scenes and chapters there but often it all vaporised before I could get to my laptop or it didn’t come out sounding the same on Word as it did when it was buzzing around in my head—I have since reported the problem to Microsoft. I hardly ever wrote at a stretch. I mostly stalled. Some days merely adding a sentence or two to the manuscript exhausted me. Other days I deleted more than I wrote. I took months between one dialogue and the next. I wrote in bed because that way I could just slam my laptop shut and shove it aside and pull the sheets over my head and pretend it never happened.

And when I came back to the dreaded pages, I’d be like ‘I wrote that shit?’ Then I’d go into depression and leave home for long durations. Not to the Himalayas or anything, but just day-long pointless jaunts around town. Almost invariably, kind of compulsively, I’d wander into bookstores and look at happy published faces on the back covers of shiny new books and curse them all roundly and get back home, pry open my laptop again and start banging away. It became my life’s ambition to be a happy published face.

I wrote miserably for many years. It is so darned difficult; I don’t get people who say it’s a joyful and liberating experience. As far as I’m concerned, writing is punishing and imprisoning. I heartily recommend it to my worst enemies.

PS: Er…I just realised I answered to *how* I wrote, rather than *where* I wrote. The answer to your question is, in bed.

3 thoughts on “Where Writers Write: Revathi Suresh

    • Please do, Harini. The book is readily and easily available. I would say freely, but I don’t think things have gotten that desperate as yet. I’ll have to tell you that the next step from being happy published face is neurotic published author. Suddenly I have turned into a hollow-eyed-something resembling Gollum and have this horrible urge to assault young things at street corners and ask them to read the book. Apart from the fact that I might be arrested, I can’t do such things anyway because Sayoni and Anushka tell me I must always behave with dignity

Leave a Reply

